REGULATION COMMITTEE

MINUTES of a meeting of the Regulation Committee held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Tuesday, 24 January 2012.

PRESENT: Mr M J Harrison (Chairman) Mr A D Crowther (Vice-Chairman) Mr R E Brookbank, Mr H J Craske, Mr J A Davies, Mr T Gates, Mr W A Hayton, Mr P J Homewood (Substitute for Mr C J Capon), Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr R J Lees, Mr S C Manion, Mr J M Ozog, Mr R A Pascoe and Mr J N Wedgbury

ALSO PRESENT: Ms S J Carey, Mr A Sandhu, MBE and Mr M J Whiting

IN ATTENDANCE: Mr M Overbeke (Head of Regulatory Services), Ms S Coventry (Public Rights Of Way Officer (Definition)), Miss M McNeir (Public Rights Of Way and Commons Registration Officer), Mrs S Thompson (Head of Planning Applications Group), Mr R Gregory (Principal Planning Officer - Enforcement), Mr G Rudd (Assistant Democratic Services Manager) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

1. Membership

(Item 1)

The Committee noted the appointment of Mr W A Hayton in place of Mr M J Whiting.

2. Minutes

(Item 4)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the Committee meeting held on 7 September 2011 and of the Member Panel meetings held on 11 November 2011, 15 November 2011 and 13 December 2011 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

3. Home to School Transport

(Item 5)

(1) The Assistant Democratic Services Manager informed the Committee that future meetings would receive an updated table on the annual Home to School Transport appeals position.

(2) Mr M J Whiting, the Cabinet Portfolio Holder for Education, Learning and Skills offered to write to Mr W A Hayton setting out the position if a child became statemented during the school year.

(3) RESOLVED that the report be noted.

4. Update from the Commons Registration Team

(Item 6)

(1) The Public Rights of Way and Commons Registration Officer agreed to send all Members of the Committee the hyperlink (once it was published) containing all responses to the DEFRA consultation on its proposals to reform the system for registering new Town or Village Greens.

(2) RESOLVED that the report be received.

5. Town and Country Planning Act 1990 - Public Rights of Way Diversions and Extinguishment Orders: Service Level Agreement with District and Borough Councils

(Item 7)

(1) The Chairman introduced the new Head of Regulatory Services, Mr Mike Overbeke to the Committee.

(2) The Committee noted that the date set out in paragraph 5 of the report should read "18 May 2011" and that all references to "I" in the report should read "the Head of Regulatory Services."

(3) RESOLVED that approval be given to the Head of Regulatory Services to enter into a Service Level Agreement on behalf of the County Council with any of the District and Borough Councils who express an interest in order to undertake the making of all Orders under the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 on their behalf.

6. Update on Planning Enforcement Issues

(Item 8)

(1) Miss S C Carey, Mr A V Sandhu and Mr M J Whiting were present for this item pursuant to Committee Procedure Rule 2.21 and addressed the Committee on the active enforcement sites in their constituencies.

(2) The Head of Planning Applications Group reported correspondence from Mr K A Ferrin and Mr R W Gough supporting the actions taken and contemplated in respect of active enforcement sites in their constituencies.

- (3) The Committee agreed to visit Shaw Grange, Charing before its next meeting.
- (4) RESOLVED that the report be noted and that the actions on the respective cases set out in paragraphs 5 to 34 of the report be endorsed together with those contained within Schedules/Appendices 1,2 and 3 of the report.

7. Mr Alan Goodison

The Committee put on record its grateful appreciation of the work of Mr Alan Goodison, the Senior Planning Enforcement Officer. It wished him great success in all his future endeavours.